close search panel


The College’s governing Council and its committees meet regularly throughout the year to make decisions concerning the College’s policy work and initiatives which enable it to meeting its mandate of protecting and serving the public interest. Council meetings are open the public.


Ontario’s veterinarians have the knowledge, skills and judgment to regulate themselves and their profession through the College. Self-regulation for a profession means two things. One, veterinarians are involved in determining the rules that govern the profession (ie. they are elected by their peers to serve as members of Council), and two, veterinarians are accountable for their own behaviour (ie. they are accountable for their conduct). The College provides assistance and oversight.

Regulatory colleges, many of which exist in human health care, were established to protect the public’s right to safe, effective and ethical health care.

The College, led by a Council of 13 veterinarians and five public members appointed by the provincial government, regulates the practice of veterinary medicine in Ontario to protect the public interest. That includes:

  • licensing veterinarians
  • performing facility inspections & accrediting veterinary facilities
  • developing and administering quality assurance programs
  • establishing and maintaining professional and ethical standards of practice
  • providing investigations and resolutions process for situations when the standards have not been met

Principles for Good Governance

The Council embraces a principle-based approach to good governance as it strives to demonstrate its trustworthiness to the public, government and the profession. The College’s over-arching goal is a demonstrated and consistent commitment to the public interest which is exemplified in the following principles.


Demonstrated Behaviours


honesty, unbiased decision making, diligence


openness, clarity of and public access to processes and decisions


impartiality, fairness, use of best evidence in decision making


effectiveness, demonstrated impact of decisions, a focus on continuous improvement


mandate focused, context awareness, nimbleness, openness to change, flexibility


inclusiveness, spirit of cooperation, sensitivity to stakeholder positions and needs

Members of Council

  • Dr. Patricia Lechten, President
  • Dr. Susan Warren, 1st Vice-President
  • Dr. Tyrrel de Langley, 2nd Vice-President
  • Dr. Patricia Alderson
  • Dr. Peter Borgs
  • Dr. Lorie Gold
  • Mr. Andrew J. Glenny
  • Dr. Christine Hickman
  • Dr. Steven Jacobs
  • Dr. Shannah Kavonic
  • Ms. K. Joy Levison
  • Mr. Donald Mayne
  • Dr. Paula Menzies
  • Dr. Alana Parisi
  • Ms. Maureen Ralph
  • Dr. Rena Spevack *
  • Dr. Sarah Thompson
  • Dr. Wade Wright
* public appointee