close search panel



The Executive Committee proposes policy changes, makes recommendations to Council, identifies the need for Registrar's Investigations and reviews recommendations from committees. It also reviews the results of Registrar's Investigations and recommends appropriate resolution or disciplinary action.

  • Dr. Patricia Lechten, President
  • Dr. Susan Warren, 1st Vice President
  • Dr. Tyrrel de Langley, 2nd Vice President
  • Dr. Steven Jacobs, Past President
  • Mr. Donald Mayne, Public Member

Governance, Audit and Risk Committee

The Governance, Audit, and Risk Committee is a non-statutory committee of Council with a primary function of monitoring the College’s compliance with its governance structure and processes, and recommending opportunities for continuous improvement to promote governance excellence.

  • Mr. Donald Mayne, Chair
  • Dr. Steven Jacobs
  • Dr. Patricia Lechten
  • Dr. Susan Warren


Under the Veterinarians Act, the Registrar issues licences to applicants who meet the licensing requirements. These are not reviewed by the Registration Committee. Applicants whose applications do not meet the requirements of the regulation may seek exemptions, which are reviewed by the Committee. The Committee endeavours to ensure public protection and equitable access to the profession. The Committee is also responsible for the College’s jurisprudence examination.

  • Dr. Paula Menzies, Chair
  • Dr. Peter Borgs
  • Mr. Andrew Glenny
  • Dr. Alana Parisi
  • Dr. Hamid Rezaei Koupaei


The Complaints Committee investigates complaints about veterinarians related to the practice of veterinary medicine.

  • Mr. Andrew Glenny, Chair
  • Dr. Kristin Baird
  • Dr. Ehab Hanna
  • Dr. Moyra Horner
  • Dr. Louise Kelly
  • Dr. Lisa Schwarz
  • Dr. Naomi Scromeda
  • Dr. Lee Ann Sealey
  • Dr. Natalie Soligo
  • Dr. Wade Wright


The Discipline Committee conducts hearings to determine allegations of professional misconduct or serious neglect against a member or former member of the College. Discipline hearings are generally open to the public. The Committee meets in Panels of three to five members to conduct hearings.

  • Dr. Steven Jacobs, Chair
  • Dr. Patricia Alderson
  • Dr. Martin Appelt
  • Dr. Trevor Bachelder
  • Dr. Peter Borgs
  • Dr. Tyrrel de Langley
  • Dr. Scott Gardiner
  • Dr. Meredith Geldart
  • Mr. Andrew Glenny
  • Dr. Lorie Gold
  • Dr. Christine Hickman
  • Dr. Douglas Hoover
  • Dr. Shannah Kavonic
  • Dr. Harold Kloeze
  • Dr. Lena Levison
  • Ms. Joy Levison
  • Dr. Clayton MacKay
  • Mr. Donald Mayne
  • Dr. Paula Menzies
  • Dr. Alana Parisi
  • Ms. Maureen Ralph
  • Dr. Liz Saul
  • Dr. Rena Spevack *
  • Dr. Sarah Thompson
  • Dr. Susan Warren
  • Dr. Wade Wright


Veterinarians in Ontario must practise from an accredited veterinary facility. The Registrar issues or renews a Certificate of Accreditation to members whose facilities meet the Minimum Standards for Veterinary Facilities as required through the Veterinarians Act. The Accreditation Committee oversees the standards that assure the facility provides a safe, professional environment for veterinary care. The Commmittee also monitors trends in veterinary medicine and amends accreditation standards, when necessary, to keep up with technology changes in the profession.

  • Dr. Lorie Gold, Chair
  • Dr. Patricia Alderson
  • Dr. Christine Hickman
  • Dr. Sara Untch
  • Ms. Maureen Ralph

Quality Assurance Committee

The Quality Assurance Committee provides recommendations to Council with respect to the quality assurance program. The program includes continuing education, professional development, practice review, and peer-review.

  • Dr. Sarah Thompson, Chair
  • Dr. Sue Burlatschenko
  • Dr. Robert Berger
  • Dr. Shannah Kavonic
  • Mr. Donald Mayne

National Examining Board

  • Dr. Bev Baxter

The College has six committees which support the work of Council. Committee membership includes veterinarians and public members. There are also non-Council members appointed to serve on Committees.

* public appointee